GUIDE: to Success


Tomorrow logo from The Partners

The Creative Graduate Guide to Success

In this article written by Anna Richardson Taylor for Digital Arts Magazine, she provides advice from practitioners on 18 pertinent questions for creative graduates to stand out from their peers, to make it in design, illustration, animation and other creative industries.

1. SHOULD I FREELANCE OR GET A JOB?
2. HOW SHOULD I MAKE MY PORTFOLIO STAND OUT?
3. NO ONE’S RESPONDING TO MY PORTFOLIO. SHOULD I ‘EMBELLISH’ PARTS OF IT?
4. IS IT OKAY TO WORK FOR FREE TO GET SOME EXPERIENCE?
5. I THINK ‘NETWORKING’ IS A DIRTY WORD – SHOULD I BOTHER WITH IT?
6. DO I NEED TO INVEST IN A SNAZZY ONLINE PRESENCE?
7. HOW CAN I ATTRACT CLIENTS’ OR POTENTIAL EMPLOYERS’ ATTENTION?
8. HOW DO I AVOID SCREWING UP THAT FIRST INTERVIEW OR CLIENT MEETING?
9. I’M DESPERATE. SHOULD I TAKE THE FIRST JOB THAT COMES ALONG?
10. HOW CAN I IMPRESS MY FIRST EMPLOYER?
11. HOW DO I NURTURE CLIENT RELATIONSHIPS?
12. HOW DO I AVOID BEING EXPLOITED?
13. DO I NEED TO GET AN AGENT, SURELY THEY CAN SORT OUT MY LIFE FOR ME?
14. SHOULD I FIND STUDIO SPACE OR STICK TO MY KITCHEN TABLE?
15. HOW DO I MAKE SURE THAT I HAVE ENOUGH MONEY?
16. DO I HAVE TO SELL MY SOUL TO BECOME A SUCCESS?
17. STILL NO JOB. SHOULD I GIVE UP?
18. IS IT A GOOD IDEA TO CONTINUE IN EDUCATION?

Read the article here: http://digitalartsonline.co.uk/features/creative-business/graduate-designerillustrators-guide-success/#ixzz2CGn1A9OO

About rgambleworc

Creating Module Blogs for teaching at University of Worcester
